ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Moving a mask with 2 movie clips (punching my clone)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hugh FearyMoving a mask with 2 movie clips (punching my clone)
by on Feb 13, 2014 at 12:09:37 pm

So I am very new to after effects and i wanted to make a video of me, punching my clone in the face (2 different takes obviously). I have in the past "cloned myself" by just filming 2 shots, masking one half out of one shot and making sure i was in the specific halves during filming so i didnt have any overlap of the two shots. But for punching myself, one shot has to reach over the half way point so therefore, making a mask down the middle does not work because the hand disappears when i go for the punch. How can i animate or move the mask so it follows my hand when i go for the punch? (there is overlap between the two shots, as in they both have a bit of time in the same spot, but they are never go behind one another or anything) For the end result, i want to be able to have it look like its one shot, and i punch my cloned self.

Return to posts index

Chris EvansRe: Moving a mask with 2 movie clips (punching my clone)
by on Feb 13, 2014 at 3:20:44 pm