ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Driving green screen- green reflection in glasses causing an issue.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Levi PoundsDriving green screen- green reflection in glasses causing an issue.
by on Feb 8, 2014 at 4:52:29 pm

Hi all. Disclaimer: I am relatively new to AE and have been using tutorials to learn over the past month or so.

I have just finished locking the picture edit for a TV pilot I am editing. It is not VFX heavy (single camera style comedy) but there is one driving green screen scene. 3 angles- a head on two shot through the windshield, and a profile shot of both actors.

My issue is with the head-on shot through the windshield. I managed to get a reasonably good key using the technique in this tutorial: http://www.videocopilot.net/tutorial/advanced_soft_keying/

The problem is that the actor in the driver's seat is wearing glasses that produce a bar of green reflection which allows the background plate to show up over one of his eyes. Screen shot attached. A friend of mine suggested this could be fixed with a simple garbage matte. I'm really not sure how to execute this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Driving green screen- green reflection in glasses causing an issue.
by on Feb 9, 2014 at 2:49:28 am

A garbage matte prior to keying will not do the job - all it'll do is prevent the green bar from being keyed. I assume that this is what you've done. Hence, the green bar on the glasses.

You have to do the following -
1) track the green bar
2) create a patch to cover the green bar
3) apply the tracking result onto the path in (2)

Good Luck
RoRK
Latest AE Workshop - MoGraph Intensity - Shapes & Text

Intensive mocha & AE Training in Singapore and Other Dangerous Locations

Imagineer Systems (mocha) Certified Instructor
& Adobe After Effects CS6 ACE/ACI

Return to posts index