<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
mel ruizAnimating shape along circle -- null object and path not cooperating
by on Feb 6, 2014 at 8:09:15 pm

Here's what I'm trying to do:
make a disc move along a circular path.

So far, I have:
made a null object
made a elliptical (actually circular) mask path
moved the anchor point of path to bottom center of circle (because that's where the disc will start tracing path

When I copy the mask's path and paste it onto null's position, weirdness ensues.
I had the circle path exactly where i wanted it in composition. I had upper left corner of null in middle of my disc. everything seems correctly aligned.
BUT when i paste, the null object and circular path jump up and to the left in the composition.

Now, I'm just learning AE, so I may be doing something really silly. I'm so frustrated at this point, I need help.
Does this makes sense?

I'm thinking it's a null object problem. Meaning, I don't totally understand them. And where to put the anchor point (upper left corner, right?). Anyway, Please Help!
Anything appreciated.

THANKS!

Return to posts index

Declan SmithRe: Animating shape along circle -- null object and path not cooperating
by on Feb 6, 2014 at 9:25:13 pm

You might want to look at expressions to do achieve this. I provided an aep file for a similar requirement which you can download from here:

3942_orientobjectaroundcirclularpath.aep.zip

The description on the file should provide some help but basically there is one layer which acts as a path, the object you want to follow the path, and a controller object which allows you to change the start point and speed.

Declan Smith
http://www.madpanic.tv
After Effects CS6/ FCS3 / Canon XLH1 / Canon 7D / Reason / Cubase

"it's either binary or it's not"

Return to posts index

Sadaf TaherianRe: Animating shape along circle -- null object and path not cooperating
by on Nov 1, 2015 at 7:19:22 pm