ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

after effects via thunderbolt drive

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
steve davisafter effects via thunderbolt drive
by on Feb 4, 2014 at 11:24:31 pm
Last Edited By steve davis on Feb 4, 2014 at 11:26:37 pm

hi guys, just wondering whether anyone has tried working in after effects with your full project living on a external thunderbolt drive, ssd or regular hard drive.

im a freelance motion designer constantly on the move so i work from my laptop a lot, transferring files back and forth to my desktop machine is proving time consuming and frustrating.

any tips / info is much appreciated.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: after effects via thunderbolt drive
by on Feb 5, 2014 at 1:05:00 am

If you're NOT using a editing application (FCP, Avid, Premiere Pro) you should be in good shape with the external drive. I'm not clear on whether EVERY NLE on the planet would go for it.

I'm paranoid about drives going south at the worst time, so I'd have a nice, strong, shock-proof case for it... but that's me.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

steve davisRe: after effects via thunderbolt drive
by on Feb 5, 2014 at 1:17:17 am

thanks dave, much appreciated.

motion designer / design director

Return to posts index

Ridley WalkerRe: after effects via thunderbolt drive
by on Feb 5, 2014 at 2:18:49 am

You have to be careful when purchasing a drive with Thunderbolt. Some of them are not what they seem at first glance.

Several companies are selling drives with a Thunderbolt connector but a USB controller, not a true Thunderbolt controller. Price is a good indicator which is which, the drives USB 3 controller are considerably less.