ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE CS6 Text Effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brady Lovell
AE CS6 Text Effect
on Feb 4, 2014 at 4:02:09 pm

Sorry for junking up the forum with a bunch of noob crap, but I'm pretty new to AE. I've got a pretty good understanding of the basics, but im in need of some help for a project I'm working on.

It's a pretty darn basic concept I would imagine. But I want to be able to take text, that's filled with a pattern, and extrude it in a 3D layer. For example....I enter text into photoshop. I double click the text layer and select "pattern overlay". The text layer is now overlayed with the pattern that I want. I import that text layer into AE, and click the 3D button. Twirl down the geometry options and there is no extrusion setting.

Does anyone know how to get the result I'm wanting? I don't see any "pattern overlay" options in AE.

Thanks for any help offered, and again, sorry for such a lame question.

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: AE CS6 Text Effect
on Feb 4, 2014 at 4:22:11 pm

There's no way to do it directly, but Chris and Trish Meyer tell you how it can be done:
http://provideocoalition.com/cmg_keyframes/story/layer_styles_in_after_effe...

You should also read any and all of their books on After Effects:

http://crishdesign.com/books/Creating-Motion-Graphics/

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

George Goodman
on Feb 4, 2014 at 6:51:04 pm

Ray Traced 3d doesn't render layer styles, so that won't work.

I've seen people get texture on 3d text in AE other ways though.

First, to get your texture on your text, create a large solid with the texture overlay that you want. The import that into after effects. Put that layer in a composition and create your text on top of it. Then under the track matte box, click Alpha Matte. Bam, texture on layer, great!