ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Duplicating nested compositions across a timeline using one layer.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan SimonDuplicating nested compositions across a timeline using one layer.
by on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:13:52 pm

Hi,

Apologies if this is a topic already well covered - I'm new to AE.

I am trying to make a character blink. The 'blink' is a composition comprising two layers - half-closed eyelids, and fully closed eyelids.

I have nested this 10 frame composition in my main composition, which is the characters face.

I want to 1) determine when my character blinks and 2) achieve this effect on one timeline, rather than having to replicate layer after layer. I know there must be an expression for this.

The outcome would look like a movie file on Premiere Pro, where one segment of footage can be copied and replicated across a timeline.

Many thanks,

Dan

Return to posts index

George GoodmanRe: Duplicating nested compositions across a timeline using one layer.
by on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:54:03 pm

Hey Dan,

Here's the approach I use for blinking. It needs to be random because people don't usually blink at normal intervals.

I create a composition with to layers. One is the eyes open, and the other is the eyes closed. In the layer with the eyes open, put this expression in the opacity property:

if (wiggle(3,100) < 50) 0 else 100

In the layer with the eyes closed, put this expression in the opacity property:

on = 100.0;
off = 0.0;

a = thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 2").transform.opacity == 100;
b = thisComp.layer("Shape Layer 2").transform.opacity == 0;

if(a >= b) {
[off]
} else {
[on]
}

*Where it says "Shape Layer 2" - you'll need to change that to the name of the layer with the open eyes. EX "OpenEyes"