ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to animate (move not rotate) an object in a circular motion.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Daniel TaylorHow to animate (move not rotate) an object in a circular motion.
by on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:00:09 pm

I want to be able to move a Null Object around in a circular motion. The only way I can think of doing it is to move the anchor point and rotate it. However, this isn't what I need because I cannot parent another object to the Null to mimic it's movement if it's only altering the rotation.

I'm thinking there must be some sort of expression, but I'm relatively new to After Effects and don't really have a clue where to begin with expressions!

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: How to animate (move not rotate) an object in a circular motion.
by on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:30:38 pm
Last Edited By John Cuevas on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:37:45 pm

Generally, I would make a null object, parent what I want to rotate in a cicle to that null and just rotate the center null.

But if parenting is out here's another method, create a comp sized solid and using the circular mask tool, make a mask the size you want your object to move around(circumference). Open up the mask properties, click/highlight "Mask Path" and copy the path(cntl+c). Now open the position property of the object you want to move along that path, click/highlight "Position" and paste(cntl+v).

The resulting keyframes are roving keyframes, meaning the first and last keyframes are the anchors. You can slide either one and the rest will auto adjust. If you want to change them, just highlight all, right click and deselect "rove across time"

Also there are methods using expressions that can also create circles---not sure if you need that type of control though.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com