ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to retain stroke properties/attribues for new strokes, specifically Line Cap

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick Mustain
How to retain stroke properties/attribues for new strokes, specifically Line Cap
on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:00:46 am

Please help.

I am a video editor and am new to after effects.

I'm working in CS6 version 11.0.2.11 On Mac OSx v 10.8.5.

This should be so simple, but I've googled and googled and forum-ed to no avail.

I am drawing some lines with the pen tool.* I want the next line that I draw to have the same attributes as the previous line I drew. It does not. I have to go in and change the Line Cap with each stroke I draw. I can't figure out how to set default line caps in properties. When I had this problem on the previous shape layer in which I drew about 30 lines that I'm doing a simple Trim Edit with, I figured I'd just go back and change all of the attributes for all of those shapes at once.

So please, I need to know how to edit attributes (specifically Line Cap in this case) for multiple strokes that I've already created on a shape layer, or how to set a default so that the pen tool will do what I want it to do, or set it so that if I draw a stroke, the next stroke I draw will have the same attributes as the previous.

Thanks so much, I appreciate any insight you can provide.

Cheers!

Patrick

PS, I really appreciate these forums, and the hundreds of video tutorials that are online, and I've learned a ton. But sometimes I just want to talk to a person, and sometimes I'd even be willing to pay for it. Does anyone know of a decent live support service? I didn't see anything on Adobe's website...

*because I have no idea how to use the brush tool. If you click on the brush tool and try to do anything with it, a whole lot of nothing happens. Googling "how to use brush tool" didn't help musch either