ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Beginner question regarding AE CC render times and possible solution. Win8

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael FigueroaBeginner question regarding AE CC render times and possible solution. Win8
by on Jan 4, 2014 at 12:10:39 pm

Hi all, I've been a lurker for about a year or so now and am running into a small problem. Now quick background, I started with Premiere Elements 10 and made the jump to PP CS 5.5 and now dabbling in AE CS5.5.I am also not an editor by trade and am mobile more than half of the year. I haven't done too many effects/transitions in any of the projects I've made, but recently I've tried some motion tracking and playing with Trapcode Particular. This where the problem begins. Before I could render all my transitions/lower thirds/effects in what I would call a tolerable amount of time on my laptop.i7-3635QM, 8GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 5d Mark III 1080P.mov input to 1080P.mov out.

I know AE is a different beast, but it seems like ages. 1hr for some text to sand type effects and even longer for an attempt at a photo wall type effect.(30 images)

My question is if I have an extra mobile PC available to me(either a Surface Pro(i5-3317U) tablet or another less powerful laptop(i7-2675QM, HD4000))Is it feasible to set these up to assist in rendering? will the lack of CPU/GPU power make the effort worthwhile? Why/Why not?

I would preferably like to avoid using a renderfarm as fast internet seems to be a problem where I am. I am just trying to see what solutions others have come up with without purchasing much higher end hardware.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Beginner question regarding AE CC render times and possible solution. Win8
by on Jan 5, 2014 at 11:50:48 am