ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Exported video is choppy using dynamic link (PP and AE CS6)

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sophia Smoloka
Exported video is choppy using dynamic link (PP and AE CS6)
on Dec 30, 2013 at 11:36:18 am

Hi!

I'm new to Adobe and the problem I'm experiencing when exporting the video with PP is probably due to some (rendering) setting I'm not aware of or workflow mistake... It must be something I do in AE because that seems to create the problem...

So my basic workflow is to open the video files with PP, do the editing and then create a dynamic link to AE by going to File -> Dynamic Link -> Replace with AE composition. I keep the original video file underneath the dynamically linked AE composition - the original files play fine in PP and they export ok too.

I use AE for keying. I save the AE project when I'm done and go back to PP where I can see the effects from AE. I now render it in PP and this is where it gets slightly choppy. I do the color correction in PP (because I know it better than AE).

I tried exporting a small section of the sequence using the YouTube 1080p preset and as I mentioned, the playback is slightly choppy or slow. It's as though my computer can't quite keep up with the file but that shouldn't be the problem - or in any case, I thought once I export it the computer should be able to play it as it's compressed and the file size is normal.

My system specs:
Intel Core i7-3930K, 3.20GHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit operating system, Windows 7, Creative Suite CS6

I'd appreciate your thoughts and let me know if I missed out on any details you need.

Many thanks,
Sophia

Return to posts index

tj reis
Re: Exported video is choppy using dynamic link (PP and AE CS6)
on Dec 30, 2013 at 5:10:21 pm

I have the same problem as you and my PC spec are:
i7 4770k
Gtx 780 GPU
32gb ram
3ssd
2hard drives
Water cooled system