ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Workflow question for a green box project

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Roland SzentesiWorkflow question for a green box project
by on Dec 27, 2013 at 6:11:03 pm

Hey guys, new here, with a question of course!

I've been doing editing and motion graphics for 3 years now and I have a project going right now that I have a hard time wrapping my head around.

A couple guys are making a green box theme ride in a hotel in Egypt, which is basically people sitting on a magic flying carpet and being filmed in two angles simultaneously (front and side). The cameras and the lights are only set up once, and from then on it's all just fixed button pushing.

The clients don't see the actual background when being filmed, they are only told by an instructor where to wave and smile (based on a reference video he is watching on a screen). Once the 2-3 minutes ride is over, they leave the room, and get the finished product on DVD the next morning, which is them riding that carpet with an animated background of famous sights around Egypt. The audio (there's going to be some sort of narration as well) and text layers can also be different languages based on the clients.

My job is making the animation and then handing it over to these guys as a template so that they can get the ride started.

So basically what I imagine right now is this:
- They film a ride, with a countdown and a bleep sound played as a sync point for the two angles
(the guys have to sync them up in premiere after the shoot, and export them with the junk before the sync point cut off)
- I make an AE project with all the animation, and two placeholder layers for the green box shots of people on the flying carpet, pre-cut with angle switches
(the guys replace the prepared footage with the placeholder one)