ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Gun Slot Effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew Glennie
Gun Slot Effect
on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:38:04 pm

Hi People,

A relative beginner here so please be gentle:-)

I have a project where I would like to have a mask track a person around the shot. In this case, its a speaker at a forum who moved around the fixed camera shot. I would like to have the output so he/she stays within the mask while the background moves. Somewhat like viewing the world through a gun slot in a gun turret.

I have seen quite a few tutorials and posts here but not one that appears to do the job, apart from suggestions that I may need to do this manually. So hopefully there is a technique for me.

Regards

Andrew

Return to posts index

Chris Evans
Re: Gun Slot Effect
on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:37:15 pm

It sounds like what you are doing is pretty simple, actually. Just open the tracking panel and track your speaker. Apply it to a null, then create a solid with your mask on it and parent it to the null. Use the solid as the track matte for your footage. Ok, so maybe that isn't as simple as I thought, but it's really not that complicated. If you don't know how to track or parent or use track mattes, just google it, you should find a bunch of tutorials. Probably a bunch on this site.

Return to posts index

Andrew Glennie
on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:13:25 am

Thanks Chris,

I will give your thoughts a try, although enxt year now as about to head for the Xmas hills.

Regards

Andrew

Return to posts index

Andrew Glennie
on Jan 14, 2014 at 7:23:20 pm

Hi Chris,