ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

mocha and AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andreas Zerr
mocha and AE
on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:39:16 pm

Hi there,

I have a quick question regarding mocha AE: As I am pretty new to the software, I do not know if mocha is the right tool, and I do not want to spend hours and hours trying. So you may can help me.

The task: The are shooting a talent in our green screen studio. The camera is held freely in the hand, not on a tripod (on purpose). Afterwards we'd like to shoot some backplate outside (steady, from tripod) to match with the movement of the camera in the foreground.

The question: Does it work to track the the foreground-movement, to key it and to match it on the background in AE with mocha?

We tried it with the standard AE-tracker, but it does not work properly (the person shifts slightly on the ground).

We've seen some tutorials of mocha, but they do not answer the question, because in all cases there are only some objects being tracked onto a background, not vise versa.

Thanks for reading, and for helpful tips!
Andreas

PIXELGALAXIE
Hamburg, Germany

Return to posts index

Roland R. Kahlenberg
Re: mocha and AE
on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:01:38 pm

What you want to do is to match the movement of a hand-held footage to a static shot. To do this, you track the background of the hand-held footage and then apply the tracking data to the static shot.

mocha will do this nicely. You will of course need to ensure that there are track-able areas on your green screen for mocha to track.

You will also need to be mindful that the backing plate is a static shot and will not have parallax for the objects within the footage. Thus, shooting the talent requires a knowledge of this fact and will impinge on the type of camera movements you can use to create an effective composite.