ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Keyframing hundreds of images

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kevin SawickiKeyframing hundreds of images
by on Nov 8, 2013 at 12:19:42 am

Hello Creative Cows,

I have collected over 1000 pictures of my co-workers and would like to make a collage in the shape of a christmas tree.

I've been following this tutorial:

At 1 minute and 34 seconds, he sets a keyframe at 10 seconds, then he sets a keyframe at 0 seconds and drags the photo off the canvas. He proceeds to do this with all of the layers.

Considering I have over 1000 photos/layers, is there any "easy" way to do this step? Maybe an expression? Sorry, I am really new to after effects and couldn't figure out what to search.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeBetter get busy!
by on Nov 8, 2013 at 12:39:31 am

Nope, that's the way to do it. No shortcuts around a simple animation like that.... particularly when each is a different image, and each has a different motion path.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Cassius MarquesRe: Keyframing hundreds of images
by on Nov 8, 2013 at 11:45:48 am

no expression would be ideal, some photos may get to run within undesired moments/places. Its way quicker to drag a bunch to each side and then adjust some. Half the way there it will look random enough.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Keyframing hundreds of images
by on Nov 8, 2013 at 3:01:07 pm

This script might help you out: Randomizer. If you can, try to donate to those guys too.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Kevin CampRe: Keyframing hundreds of images