ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

New mask on adjustment layer slipping back to footage - won't stay on the adj.layer

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dave Austin
New mask on adjustment layer slipping back to footage - won't stay on the adj.layer
on Nov 2, 2013 at 3:55:39 pm

Before I say anything else, thank you to all the folks who take the time to help everyone on these forums. This is my first post.

I'm not a total noob with AE6, but can't get this one. I've searched the forums, watched a half dozen YouTube videos and don't see others having the same issue. When they make an adjustment layer over some footage and grab the Pen Tool to make a mask, as soon as they click in the Layer Window while the adj. layer is selected, the vertex sticks on the adj. layer as you'd expect. However when I click my first vertex with the Pen on a new adjustment layer in the Layer Window, a mask is created a level down on my footage, NOT on the adj. layer. So the selection jumps from the adj. layer down a layer to my footage and the new mask is created there. I can't get a mask to stay on the adjustment layer.

Thanks much in advance.

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
Re: New mask on adjustment layer slipping back to footage - won't stay on the adj.layer
on Nov 2, 2013 at 8:27:32 pm

Post screenshots. Or better, a screen capture movie.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index

Dave Austin
Re: New mask on adjustment layer slipping back to footage - won't stay on the adj.layer
on Nov 2, 2013 at 10:06:27 pm

Thanks, Todd.