ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Screen Replacement

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anthony EamensScreen Replacement
by on Oct 31, 2013 at 6:47:28 pm

Ok so i'm new to After effects but have been watching a lot of tutorials and gaining a bit of experience, however I've hit a brick wall in terms of this.

I'm a UI designer and have recently started to animate my screens to show the developers, but I want to finish these off by placing the animated screens onto an image of a mobile phone / tablet. The images I have are in perspective so not front facing, and I've searched numerous terms to find out how to do this, and have come across 'Corner Pin' however every tutorial or information I find is referring to placing a Video onto a video and tracking the motion, where as I want to place a Video (Animated Screens) onto a still image (Mobile phone) which is angled. I did try positioning the video manually, changing it into a 3D layer and tweaking the values but this proved very difficult. I'm presuming there is a simple method to do this?

Any suggestions or help would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Screen Replacement
by on Nov 1, 2013 at 12:27:25 am

You're looking at a two-step procedure -
(1) remove the existing perspective/distortion
(2) apply the correct perspective/distortion to fit the mobile phone

(1) -
(a) use four Guides (two horizontals and two verticals) to create four corners/points that match the outline/perimeter of your video

(b) apply CC Powerpin and enable its Unstretch prop

(c) move Powerpin's four corners to the respective corners/points that you created in (1a) above

(d) scrub the appropriate Powerpin corner values to perfectly un-distort the image

2 -
(a) apply CC Powerpin again and set the corner values to fit your mobile phone.

HTH
RoRK