ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Best AE CS6 export settings for an Avid Project?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Benjamin GadberryBest AE CS6 export settings for an Avid Project?
by on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:30:29 pm

Hey folks,

I'm a film student and Premiere Pro editor who is learning to use Avid to get an edge when I go out in the working world! That said, learning how to integrate Avid with AE is proving to be less straightforward than I had hoped.

I've figured out (to a degree, haha) how I need to send files out of Avid to get to AE, but I'm not sure how I should export on the round trip back to Avid.

I have two types of videos I need to send back to Avid.

One is just some credits/graphics, and I'm wondering what option I should choose to avoid the dreaded transcoding (is "MXF 0P1 A" Avid's MXF format?) and also preserve full quality.

The second is footage that I import into AE to color correct and then grade with Magic Bullet Looks. What's the best option export wise there?

Thanks folks!

-Benjamin Gadberry Productions

http://bengadberryproductions.tumblr.com/

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Best AE CS6 export settings for an Avid Project?
by on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:29:23 pm

I use both Avid and AE and anything exported from the Avid I use DNxHD codecs wrapped in a quicktime wrapper. Coming out of AE, I use the same thing Avid DNxHD with the same frame rate as my project, so I can get a quick import.

You can download the codecs for quicktime HERE

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Benjamin GadberryRe: Best AE CS6 export settings for an Avid Project?
by on Sep 19, 2013 at 3:11:20 am