ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

graphic card for AE with Dell workstation T7600

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mario League
graphic card for AE with Dell workstation T7600
on Sep 11, 2013 at 6:30:20 am

Hi guys, this is my first time here. My name is mario and I do motion graphics, 2d compositing and editing.

I have an old dell precision laptop 32 bit but I will be upgrading to a dell workstation T7600 as I have credit there, so it has to be a dell T7600.
My software is avid media composer, after effects and combustion. Normally I work with HD footage but I want to have enough power to handle 4k if necessary.
Questions.

1- Graphic card ? It must work well with avid, AE and combustion. Avid guidelines says a NVIDIA Quadro 4000 is good. I’m planning for a dual 2gb Nvidia quadro 4000 or a 2.5gb nvidia quadro 5000. Which do you think is better to work with AE and combustion and rendering time. HD footage and I hope can handle 4k if necessary.

2- processors. I’ll put Two Intel® Xeon® Processors E5-2630 (Six Core, 2.3GHz, 15M, 7.2 GT/s) . It’s this ok?

3- All my software 32 bit, do I have to buy it again 64 bit? Combustion is not for sale anymore, can I use my 32 bit version in the 64bit system?

Sorry about making so many questions but before I order the workstation I want to make sure to ask people who knows about it.

Thanks

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: graphic card for AE with Dell workstation T7600
on Sep 12, 2013 at 5:15:20 am

[Mario League] "1- Graphic card ? It must work well with avid, AE and combustion. Avid guidelines says a NVIDIA Quadro 4000 is good. I’m planning for a dual 2gb Nvidia quadro 4000 or a 2.5gb nvidia quadro 5000. Which do you think is better to work with AE and combustion and rendering time. HD footage and I hope can handle 4k if necessary."