ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How to animate a "pop-up" text reveal in AE

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jackie ZiesemerHow to animate a "pop-up" text reveal in AE
by on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:12:39 pm

I'm just learning to use After Effects for some video projects that have been assigned to me at work.

I've been looking at videos for cool ideas, and I really like some of the styles used in this video: http://demoduck.com/portfolio/pushlocal-stop-motion-animation/

I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out how to do the following:

1. (0:00- 0:04) How to get objects to "pop in" in like the 'like' symbols and facebook posts are doing.

1. (0:05-0:08) How to get each letter of a word to fly in, letter by letter, to form the complete word. Would using paths be the best way? Or is there an easier way to do this?

2. (1:00-1:06) How to get my text to "pop-up" in a similar way. As though it's 'rising up' out of nothing, or from behind an invisible barrier.

Thank you so much for your help!

Return to posts index

Jackie ZiesemerRe: How to animate a "pop-up" text reveal in AE
by on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:45:32 pm

Update! I've figured out an easy way to "pop up" (my question for #3). Now I just need help with the other two...

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: How to animate a "pop-up" text reveal in AE
by on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:21:03 pm

The symbols popping can be done by animating the scale and adding a little overshoot. Maybe there's an easier way, but it's pretty quick to just adjust the handles in the graph editor like so:

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index