ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

invalid image buffer size

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Laura Gruszczynskiinvalid image buffer size
by on Aug 6, 2013 at 1:54:38 pm

Hi,
I am new to After Effects and I have a master comp on a timeline with many comps inside it. I have a couple of effects on this master comp. I recently started getting an error message when rendering it out. "Invalid image buffer size." What little I could find on the web about it indicates I have an huge image file in my comp or maybe some footage that AE is interpreting as a huge image file. I looked through my comp, and while I do have a large file that i am using as a background image with some camera moves, that doesn't seem to be the problem. It chokes at the same place each time, right before the first effect. In this case, when I disable the Stretch Master Control effect, the comp renders just fine. Is there a reason this one effect seems to be confusing AE into thinking I have a 38000 pixel image in there?
What can I do about it?
Thanks,

Laura

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: invalid image buffer size
by on Aug 6, 2013 at 2:36:47 pm

[Laura Gruszczynski] " I recently started getting an error message when rendering it out. "Invalid image buffer size...." In this case, when I disable the Stretch Master Control effect, the comp renders just fine. Is there a reason this one effect seems to be confusing AE into thinking I have a 38000 pixel image in there? What can I do about it?"

I'm not familiar with the effect you're referring to, but if it serves to scale up a layer, then it's entirely possible that you are ending up with an image that's 38,000 pixels wide.

If you are starting with a 1920x1080 image, and you scale that up to 1000% (or 10x), then Ae needs a 19,200 x 10,800 image buffer to store the intermediate layer for compositing.