ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Optimum laptop specs for video production

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Umyd AnnaniazOptimum laptop specs for video production
by on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:37:30 am

Hi folks,

I'm planning to purchase a laptop for video production. Specially for AE, premiere pro, and some photoshop and gaming.
(I'm not very experienced, so please forgive some simple questions)

Here is my configuration and some questions:

- Intel Core i7-4700MQ (2.4GHz, quad core, 6mb cache, turbo mode 3.4GHz, 47W)

- NVIDIA Geforce GTX 770m

- RAM 4x8 32GB DDR3-1600MHz (an IT guy told me that current systems can make use of up to 12gb of ram only. Is that true. Should I be going for 8+4gb ram?)

- 256gb ssd Samsung 840 PRO

- 1TB + 8GB SSD, 64mb cache (so this 1tb hdd is supposed to have ssd speed. I chose it for storing my 150+gb video projects and my movies. speaking of storage, is it advised to have a ssd for the OS and software, and a fast and larger hdd to store the videos/the project so that the software can access it quickly? It's not advised to have both the software and the project vids on the same hdd. Is this correct?)

- What shall I do with the msata slots? Are they the same as the usual SSDs but just smaller?

- Which screen shall I choose: some say go for "17.3 inch Full HD Non-Glare - 72% Gamut (AUO B173HW01 V4)" and some say "17.3 inch Full HD Glare - 90% Gamut (AUO B173HW01 V5)".

- Wireless / Bluetooth: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 dual band AGN (2.4/5GHz), 300mbps + bluetooth 4.0 (wireless display)

- Do you think by now win8 is developed enough? Or shall I go for win7?

The link is below in case I've left something out. It's a Dutch website but the names of the parts are the same:
http://www.bto.eu/html/configureer.asp?PartnerID=1&DisplayPartnerID=1&Produ...

Greetings

Umyd

Return to posts index