ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

I am a budding motion designer. Where should I start?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ray LuxI am a budding motion designer. Where should I start?
by on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:38:40 pm

Hello! This is my first time posting on creative cow! I am a student going to SCAD for motion design. I have been doing after effects tutorials but I thought I would ask what the professionals think would be the best way to go about learning current day motion design.

If anyone cares to look, my work so far is viewable at
I have an adequate understanding of keyframes, and I have dabbled with expressions.

I suppose my question would be what type of tutorials should I focus on if I plan to be a free lance graphic / motion designer?

Thank you for taking your time to read this.
(If I am posting in the wrong forum I apologize)

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: I am a budding motion designer. Where should I start?
by on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:09:09 pm

For design & learning the toolset, I think Andrew Kramer does a really good job at VideoCoPilot

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Jeff KayRe: I am a budding motion designer. Where should I start?
by on Jul 17, 2013 at 4:38:49 pm

The most important thing is to be aware of how best you, as an individual, learn. Do you learn better from traditional environments? Books or tutorials? Person to person interaction? Trial and error?

For moden motion design specifically, I'd seek out others in the same line of work in your area. Talk with them, have a business lunch, or see if you can take a look at the work they are actually doing.