ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

jpeg goes blank when placed into composition?!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kim Grant
jpeg goes blank when placed into composition?!
on Jul 7, 2013 at 8:29:09 pm

Hey guys, Im using after effects cs6, so far in my animation I have just used one jpeg and animated some text which works fine but I have since tried to add other still jpegs into the timeline and they are just appearing as white?
I also had another problem when importing a jpeg sequence I wanted to change the frame rate ect I tried to do this but again the whole thing went blank in the composition.
I am pretty new to all this so maybe Im just missing something obvious but Ive made a ken burns style animation before and had no problems.
Any help would be appreciate.

Return to posts index

Darby Edelen
Re: jpeg goes blank when placed into composition?!
on Jul 8, 2013 at 1:22:05 pm

Can you provide a screen shot or two of the problem? Ideally it'd be good to see the timeline, your comp viewer and the project panel with one of the problematic JPEGs selected.

Darby Edelen

Return to posts index

Kim Grant
on Jul 8, 2013 at 1:44:06 pm

this first image is of my initial jpeg working fine

Now as you see in this one you can see my jpeg on the layer but when placed onto the timeline its blank
Thank you!

Return to posts index

Jeff Hinkle
on Jul 8, 2013 at 5:25:29 pm

I think you're seeing your JPEG but only a tiny portion of it. Your image size is over 4,000 X 2,000. If you notice, the size percentage in your viewer is only 4%. If you adjust the scale of your JPEG, you should see the mailbox appear.

That said, working with an image that large, unless you need to scale in really close, is extra overhead you don't need. You'll get better performance with an image closer to your final output size.

---
It is easier to destroy than to create.
More fun, too.

Return to posts index