ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Rendering: Either slow to play (lossless) or poor quality (H.264). What am I doing wrong?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kevin Cotterill
Rendering: Either slow to play (lossless) or poor quality (H.264). What am I doing wrong?
on May 29, 2013 at 7:30:39 am

Firstly I just want let you know that I am a newbie. Only started studying AE this last week.

After editing my footage for green screen, I'm having some issues rendering.

If I render lossless, the file is too big and doesn't play full speed.

If I render H.264, I lose too much quality.

(99% of my videos will be for youtube BTW)

What am I doing wrong?

Does Premiere Pro or Media Encoder come into play at some point here?

Thanks.

Return to posts index

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Re: Rendering: Either slow to play (lossless) or poor quality (H.264). What am I doing wrong?
on May 29, 2013 at 11:29:48 am

Lossless will be hard to play realtime on most machines. This is used for a archival or intermediate (post production work) level. For delivery you can use H264- just do not use AE to render that. It is best to render a final master with a lossless codec and then use AME (Encoder) to compress. For YouTube you can use one of the presets or (better in my opinion)render a CBR 5mbs H264 in a QT (mp4) container that will be later re-converted by YouTube to a 6mbs.

Tudor "Ted" Jelescu
Senior VFX Artist

Return to posts index

Ivan Myles
Re: Rendering: Either slow to play (lossless) or poor quality (H.264). What am I doing wrong?
on May 29, 2013 at 6:18:38 pm

[Kevin Cotterill] "If I render lossless, the file is too big and doesn't play full speed. If I render H.264, I lose too much quality."