ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Creating an 80's Wireframe 3D Landscape

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jackison FalkreathCreating an 80's Wireframe 3D Landscape
by on May 19, 2013 at 11:47:15 pm

I'm trying to make a wireframe landscape but I am very new to anything 3D.

What I'm looking for is like what you'd see in an old Blade Runner movie, or Star Wars: A new Hope or something.

The closest thing to it I could find to what I'm trying to achieve, would be the landscape grid that appears several times during the music video Zoom by the Last Dinosaurs. (0:09 Seconds.)

I've managed to get a really bad one going, it's not what I'm looking for. It is instead a grid with diagonal lines in each section.
I don't particularly need help in animating or making the grid glow, I just need some help in actually modelling it properly.

Thank you.

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Creating an 80's Wireframe 3D Landscape
by on May 20, 2013 at 11:51:22 am

Not sure if there is a standard plugin that will accomplish that in AE, but it's easily doable with Trapcode Mir

Getting Started with MIR - part 2

Johnny Cuevas, Editor

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Ollie InglisRe: Creating an 80's Wireframe 3D Landscape
by on May 20, 2013 at 8:31:49 pm

Looks like this was created in Mir, or cinema 4d. There is a project file on this website for something similar which you can download and learn from called "potus 3012" or "narrow gultch". Hope this helps.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Creating an 80's Wireframe 3D Landscape
by on May 21, 2013 at 4:33:57 pm

Mir or Plexus would make this pretty straightforward; you could also do it with Form.