ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Drawn mask snapping to predefined areas

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ian Liuzzi-Fedun
Drawn mask snapping to predefined areas
on May 19, 2013 at 2:21:50 pm

I will more than readily admit I am not an expert After Effects user so please bare with me. I am drawing a mask around an image on a layer and for some reason, as in the attached photo, it is snapping to some predefined mask. I want it to cover the edges of the notes as well.....how do I do that?

Return to posts index

Ian Liuzzi-Fedun
Re: Drawn mask snapping to predefined areas
on May 19, 2013 at 3:22:57 pm

Would always help if the image I was talking about was attached.

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on May 20, 2013 at 2:52:15 am

How, exactly, are you drawing the mask? What I see in your screenshot looks like the segmentation boundary from the Roto Brush tool, which has nothing to do with masks.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Return to posts index

Ian Liuzzi-Fedun
on May 20, 2013 at 2:56:56 am

According to After Effects what is being shown is the alpha boundary. I tried to redraw it with a tool but it always sticks to what is shown. I beleive the images that imported (that graphic is one image) had an alpha channel with it and After Effects is using that. Is there a way to get it to ignore the alpha on the file?

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
on May 20, 2013 at 3:19:01 am

Again, how exactly are you drawing the mask?

Are you using the Pen tool?

As I said, it appears that you are using the Roto Brush tool, and that has nothing to do with masks.