ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

3D in AE??

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Charles Wickware3D in AE??
by on May 10, 2013 at 7:45:36 pm

Hello,

I am very new to AE but looking around it appears that you are able to do create some significant 3D animation within the program via Elements 3D, is this correct? What's the word on going this route as opposed to say working in Maya?

Thank you
Charles

Return to posts index

Ridley WalkerRe: 3D in AE??
by on May 10, 2013 at 7:56:07 pm

[Charles Wickware] "What's the word on going this route as opposed to say working in Maya?
"

Maya is a dedicated 3D application with a myriad of modelling and animation features that are not available in Element 3d or After Effects.

Element 3D is a 3rd party add on for After Effects that allows the use of pre-made 3D Models (OBJ and C4D files) for animation using openGL rendering. It is very nimble, well implemented for use in After Effects but far more limited than a 3D application.

Return to posts index

Charles WickwareRe: 3D in AE??
by on May 10, 2013 at 8:11:39 pm

Thank you, if one were to learn a 3D program, between 3DSMAX and Maya, which one would be best?

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: 3D in AE??
by on May 10, 2013 at 8:37:26 pm

[Charles Wickware] "Thank you, if one were to learn a 3D program, between 3DSMAX and Maya, which one would be best?"

For working with Ae? None of the above. C4D has some cool new integration features in Ae CC -- and C4D Lite will come bundled with Ae CC when it's released next month.

Max also has a pretty interesting-looking bridge to Ae, but I've never used it.

For a better answer to your question -- what sort of work are you looking to do in 3D?

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking