ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Follow and zoom in on object.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Charles Wickware
Follow and zoom in on object.
on May 9, 2013 at 11:26:27 pm

So I'm very new at after effects and I am trying to create the typical ship moving across a map as dotted lines come from behind it effect. So far I used a shape layer and stroke with "trimmed paths" to keyframe the movement. I put a ship image on top of that and drew a path to match the stroke.

QUESTION 1: Is there a way of connecting the ship to the end point of the stroke path so I don't have to basically redraw the path with the ship's motion? If so how?

Now that I have this. I want the camera to start in a zoomed out position (as seen on the image attached) and as the ship moves up along the path I want the camera to zoom in onto the ship and track it as it gets to the full zoom I want. I imagine I do this by using a null object and a camera? But every time I use a null object (again having to redraw another path to follow the ship), the path gets all messed up when in 3D..and that's pretty much as far as I've been able to get.

QUESTION 2: How the heck to do I get the camera to zoom into and on the moving ship?

Thank you much!

Return to posts index

Ridley Walker
Re: Follow and zoom in on object.
on May 9, 2013 at 11:58:12 pm

[Charles Wickware] "QUESTION 1: Is there a way of connecting the ship to the end point of the stroke path so I don't have to basically redraw the path with the ship's motion? If so how?
"

There are several methods. Here's one:

Select the path property in the shape layer and click on the word Path and copy.

Now click on the Position property for the ship and paste.