ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How do You Make Simple 3D animations that look like Front View as opposed to Active Camera?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Scott ClementsHow do You Make Simple 3D animations that look like Front View as opposed to Active Camera?
by on May 9, 2013 at 11:44:28 am

Hi, I have text that I want to animate, so that it starts off lying flat on its back and then rotates upward in 3D space so it's facing the camera. When I put AE into 3D mode and do the animation, the perspective from the active camera is not what I want. In fact, I don't have a camera in the scene - nor do I want one really. I want it to look like it does in front view. I'm very new to AE so don't really know how to make this happen. Would someone be able to tell me, please? Thanks.

Film Editor, London UK
http://www.scottclementseditor.com

Return to posts index

Cassius MarquesRe: How do You Make Simple 3D animations that look like Front View as opposed to Active Camera?
by on May 9, 2013 at 1:47:25 pm

AE has no orthographic projection capabilities. The best you can do to acchieve this sort of look is to create a camera and move it back in Z, then raise it's zoom until you almost take all the perspective away.

(if you have no camera and a 3d object, AE uses a default one, though you wont see it in your comp)

Return to posts index

Scott ClementsRe: How do You Make Simple 3D animations that look like Front View as opposed to Active Camera?
by on May 9, 2013 at 1:57:27 pm

Thanks, Cassius! Good to know. I precomped the text and then added a camera into the precomp and repositioned the camera to remove the perspective. Then, I had to reposition the text precomp in the main comp. Too bad they don't have the ability to use the orthographic views. Would make things a lot simpler.

Film Editor, London UK

Return to posts index