ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Advice on first big project

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Zvi TwerskyAdvice on first big project
by on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:20:34 pm

Little background about myself... I've been editing video for about 8 years, mostly events. I had plenty of little projects that involved music or cinematic videos, documentaries, etc, that involved After efects, tracking and composting. My knowledge in AE is between above average and advanced. My knowledge in 3ds Max is above average. My overall learning skills are excellent, in other words, there is nothing I can't get done in either of those programs... it all comes down to time. Since I don't use advanced AE techniques on a daily basis, I haven't had the opportunity to be fast (like I am when I edit events).

My dream is to work full time in composting, tracking and motion graphics. Over the years, I've spent literally thousands of hours in self teaching but again, if you don't do daily work in that field, you'll never get fast.

Since I opened my own editing business 2 years ago, business is flourishing but mainly in events so I don't have time to brush up on the other things I want to do. Last week I got an offer for a big job. I didn't get all the details yet but it will involve green screens, real explosions in building and they are even going to blow up a car. Many cameras and cranes will be involved and police and fire department personnel will be on all scenes. What I was told is that I will be given ready made files of rendered models and scenes (maybe more cars andor buildings) to be composted into final shots. I guess this will include Z-passes and ambient inclusions etc...