ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Tips on effectively keying out wind-blown hair?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Betsy LandsteinerTips on effectively keying out wind-blown hair?
by on Apr 15, 2013 at 7:03:44 pm

Hey! I'm pretty new to the whole Green Screen world... in fact, this is my first project. I did my best to research and prepare myself with as much knowledge as possible on the topic(the internet is a wonderful place!), but I still ran into a few issues. I "finished" editing this project in After Effects CS6, and noticed some artifacting(I think that's what it's called..), or green screen that didn't key out, especially around my hair(which the wind blows pretty intensely at parts... I'm guessing that's what is causing my problems).

I was wondering if there are any helpful tips/tricks that anyone knows of that would help to eliminate this? I don't have the budget to go buy any special software, or ad-ons.. so unless it's free, I'd prefer learning of things that I could do with After Effects and it's already built-in goodness.

Here are a few images of the project to get an idea of what I'm talking about:

http://bit.ly/XCIqll
http://bit.ly/12fKjWZ
http://bit.ly/138QElT
http://bit.ly/117ER4l

as you may, or may not, be able to tell.. I'm not having a problem with the artifacting on the hair of the "ghosts" behind me. I'm guessing that's because of the opacity difference?

Thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

Jason JantzenRe: Tips on effectively keying out wind-blown hair?
by on Apr 15, 2013 at 8:17:55 pm

Hi there Betsy,