ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How do I put a mask for a set period(time)?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jasmine KimHow do I put a mask for a set period(time)?
by on Apr 10, 2013 at 4:34:50 am

I'm very very new to after effect so please be patient.
I do have understanding of general logic of how AE works i.e photoshop related, key frame, etc.

What I'm trying to do is simply putting the mask for a set time.
I made a mask and I want it to last only 1 or 2 seconds in the video.
So I put time-remapping but I don't know how to make the mask disappear at the 2nd key frame.

This must be very simple and easy thing to do.

Also, I wonder if there's a separate window (sort of zoom window) to control keyframe like in Premiere.
Like the one you can see detail and set detail info of a certain spot that you put 2 key frames at the beginning and at the end.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

chris brettRe: How do I put a mask for a set period(time)?
by on Apr 10, 2013 at 8:05:15 am

Hi ---

---it would be easier to watch a training video than have me explain - those guys do it a lot better than me ..............

--- suggest Andrew Kramer at Videocopilot.net / tutorials / basic tutorials or trawl Andrew Devis's tutorials on this site .

These 2 guys have different styles and if used together are a brilliant training system I think - highly recommended - worked for me.

--------------- all the best ----chris --

Return to posts index

Jasmine KimRe: How do I put a mask for a set period(time)?
by on Apr 10, 2013 at 8:29:46 am

Hi
Thanks for the post.
For the past 2 days, I watched a looooot of tutorial videos on youtube and vimeo but still couldn't figure out this specific issue.
I get how things work. But for some reason it doesn't work when I try to apply those methods to what I'm creating.