ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Adobe After Effects on a MacBook Pro Retina 15-inch with 16GB RAM

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nicolai Hervik OlsenAdobe After Effects on a MacBook Pro Retina 15-inch with 16GB RAM
by on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:31:24 am

Hey.

I am going to start studying again next year, and I need a laptop as I can't carry a Stationary computer around with me.
But I am also going to use it for quite heavy After Effects video editing(I'm studying film and tv production).
Therefore, I am thinking about purchasing the MacBook Pro Retina 15-inch(since Non-Retina doesn't offer more than 8GB RAM) with the following specifications:
15-inch: 2.7GHz
with Retina display
2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
Turbo Boost up to 3.7GHz
16GB 1600MHz memory
512GB flash storage1
Intel HD Graphics 4000
NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory
Built-in battery (7 hours)2

Wil this be enough to run heavy projects in After Effects properly?

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Ridley WalkerRe: Adobe After Effects on a MacBook Pro Retina 15-inch with 16GB RAM
by on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:14:05 pm

[Nicolai Hervik Olsen] "Wil this be enough to run heavy projects in After Effects properly?
"

It all depends on what you mean by heavy projects. My main production machine is a 12 core Mac Pro with 32GB of RAM, a 2TB RAID, SSD Drive for Cache and 17TB of attached storage.

I also have the MacBook Pro Retina with 16GB of RAM, while it is a capable laptop, it is not a substitute for my desktop machine. You can add more storage via USB3 and Thunderbolt to the laptop and you'll need to if you are working on large uncompressed HD video files.

The other MacBook Pro's can have 16GB of RAM, Apple just doesn't configure them that way, you have to get 3rd party RAM and install it yourself.

Also check this link regarding what affects performance in After Effects.

http://adobe.ly/pRYOuk