ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

SWF Export Woes

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robert HeadrickSWF Export Woes
by on Mar 8, 2013 at 9:37:17 pm

I'm completely stumped by this. One of our designers asked me to try animating a design of his into a web banner. It's my first time doing anything like that, so I assumed there would be some troubleshooting, but this is just getting weird.

There are a ton of things weirding me out, so I'll try to summarize. At one point I had it working to where I could export a SWF of what I had animated so far. The file size was larger than we wanted though, so I decided to try removing one of the moving elements to see if that would decrease it. When I removed it, the SWF would no longer export properly. It would create an empty file only 22 bytes large. I couldn't even just turn off the visibility - my animation would literally only export if this file was present and turned on. Weird thing is, if I moved it to the bottom below my background, where it was no longer showing up in my comp view... it would export! But I couldn't remove it from the comp. I tried removing other layers, and everything still exported just fine.

Fast-forward a bit. This thing has frustrated me to no end, so I've completely rebuilt the animation using only native AE content (Texts, masked solids) and .EPS versions of some photographs that had been present in the original. After some hassles with a few things here and there, I again got it working to where I could export everything. Then, again, I wanted to try turning off one of the moving elements to see if it affected file size. In my previous example I described, this had been an .AI file. I'd since converted it to a masked solid. And again, when I removed it from the comp... somehow the entire thing broke and would no longer export a valid SWF file!