ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

I think im a noob - How do i fill a mask with hands (made of masks)?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tiyour BuuleyI think im a noob - How do i fill a mask with hands (made of masks)?
by on Feb 24, 2013 at 6:00:43 pm

Hi Everyone, this is my first use of creative cow so please tell me if i make any mistakes.

Here's the problem, im making an intro for someone but i cant figure out how to do it.
The idea is to have a shed load of hands (vectors/masks not images) that when the camera zooms out or the comp is scaled down, the hands make an image. The image i want it to turn into has an alpha channel and i can easily turn it into a mask path in photoshop.
The question is, how do i fill said image with hands, and enough hands that they'r actually small enough to look like they could be 'pixels' in the image.

I would like it that at the start of the comp/intro, the view is just of one hand, then it zooms out to see hands around it and this theme continue's till the actual image appears.

Im almost certainly missing something insanely dumb so please forgive me.

Thanks in advance

Return to posts index

Vishesh AroraRe: I think im a noob - How do i fill a mask with hands (made of masks)?
by on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:11:22 am

Tiyour

What you need to do this is called a Matte.

Learn about track matte in after efffects

Check the example file:

5523_usingmatteinae.zip

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist
Films Rajendra

Blog:
http://digieffects.wordpress.com

2011 3D Demo Reel:

Return to posts index

Tiyour BuuleyRe: I think im a noob - How do i fill a mask with hands (made of masks)?
by on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:25:53 pm

Thanks so much for your reply,