ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

New AE CS6 / C4D system build!!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
sam bevingtonNew AE CS6 / C4D system build!!
by on Feb 20, 2013 at 1:06:05 am

Hi all, this is my first post, so sorry if i dont give enough info, bear with me!!

I've been a designer for 5 years and have been dabbling in AE and C4d the whole time. I've decided to make the jump and devote a lot more of my time to the motion side of my work, and hence I've started building a new system to handle my new requirements :)

I need some advice on where my money would be better spent to improve render times: RAM or GPU (i currently have NO GPU, this was a second hand box bought at a bargain price off a gamer and came with a shitty ATI 4500 series 512 which was useless!)

I have a budget at the moment of $150-$175 AU

heres my current specs:

cpu: 17 3770 3.40GHZ
mobo: gigabyte B75M-D3H
RAM: 8gb kingston hyper-x ddr3
gpu: none (!)
PSU: coolermaster 500w
HDD: 2x WD caviar 500gb
1x WD black 120gb

any help greatly appreciated!! im on a tight budget so lookling for getting my moneys worth!!

thanks

Return to posts index

Alex GerulaitisRe: New AE CS6 / C4D system build!!
by on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:15:33 am

GeForce GTX-660 Ti may fit your budget (not sure what the prices are in EU), and will work with your power supply. Anything more powerful will cost more and will need a better PSU. Anything less - probably not worth spending money on, at all.

Alex Gerulaitis
Systems Engineer
DV411 - Los Angeles, CA

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: New AE CS6 / C4D system build!!
by on Feb 20, 2013 at 6:01:06 am

RAM.

See this page for information about hardware for After Effects: http://adobe.ly/pRYOuk

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering