ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Tips on doing a 3d camera fly-by

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Larry FishTips on doing a 3d camera fly-by
by on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:35:57 pm

Hi,

I want to have a camera fly in to different video clips, show one for a few seconds, fly back, then move forward to a different clip - not Just straight but moving around different orientations/angles. I have 12 different clips I want to fly into & out of. I am not a novice, but by no means an expert either. I've seen some tutorials on 3d camera's etc. But I am struggling to get the look I want. Any scripts or other tips, - Anything!

Thanks!

Peace,

elFish

(The creative cow way of saying Larry Fish)

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: Tips on doing a 3d camera fly-by
by on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:00:14 pm

For doing this, I use null controlled camera rig based off of this tutorial: Simple Camera Rig

Andrew Davis also has a good 3 part series on the subject of AE cameras and creating a very similar rig: Animating a Camera 1

Both of those tutorials explain some of the issues you will encounter when using AE cameras.

Another option is to use Video Copilot Sure Target, it won't really teach you about why cameras behave the way they do, bit it's a pretty nifty little plugin that will automatically get you from 1 video to the other. It's a lot more limiting than if you keyframed everything with a regular camera.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Vishesh AroraRe: Tips on doing a 3d camera fly-by
by on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:15:15 pm

Larry