ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Pixel motion is completely ineffective

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Morgan Wable-KeenePixel motion is completely ineffective
by on Jan 20, 2013 at 5:42:57 pm

I have some footage that I want to slow down, and I don't want to have it slow down the clip like normal (duplicating the frames accordingly) because it looks choppy, but when I turn its layer on Pixel Motion mode (under frame blending options, obviously), it just slows it down like normal, duplicating frames. Isn't pixel motion supposed to interpolate the pixel data and all that stuff? At least, not literally nothing. Am I doing something wrong?

Return to posts index

Jeff BrownRe: Pixel motion is completely ineffective
by on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:29:31 pm

You might try Twixtor from re:Vision Effects. I believe you can get a demo/trial version.
I have no experience with Pixel Motion, as I have been using Twixtor for several years.

Return to posts index

Herbie HumperdinkRe: Pixel motion is completely ineffective
by on Jan 20, 2013 at 9:18:14 pm

Kronos is also an option. I never used it.

Return to posts index

Vishesh AroraRe: Pixel motion is completely ineffective
by on Jan 21, 2013 at 10:03:55 am

Morgan

None of the plugin will give you 100 % accurate result. You have to mask some area where it looks choppy.

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist
Films Rajendra

Blog:
http://digieffects.wordpress.com

2011 3D Demo Reel:

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: Pixel motion is completely ineffective
by on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:47:19 pm

> Kronos is also an option.

That's what After Effects uses for Pixel Motion in frame blending (and for the Timewarp effect).

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineering
After Effects team blog