ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE noob. Question about altering a template

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian Matz
AE noob. Question about altering a template
on Dec 31, 2012 at 3:31:37 pm

Good Morning. I have a bit of a dilemma, and I have searched the Internet high and low for an answer to no avail. I am a complete noob with AE, I am trying to alter a template that creates a small slide show and animated text.

So here is my problem. I am trying to copy and paste a 5 second clip of the animated text to the next instance on my timeline. When I do this and alter the text on the pasted clip the text from the original changes as well.

I have tried this everyday that I can imagine and I still can't figure it out. Seems like it should be pretty easy?. It is driving me crazy.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance. Running AE CS6 on a Mac Pro.

Brian

Return to posts index

John Cuevas
Re: AE noob. Question about altering a template
on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:02:42 pm

It sounds like the text you need to change is in a precomp---something named like "change text here".

Go to your project panel and duplicate that composition and rename it something appropriate. Now open that up and change the text. Insert that precomp into your final composition where needed.

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Brian Matz
on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:38:38 pm

Johnny,
Thanks for your reply.

I tried what you said and I am still getting the same result, I will try to explain what is happening.

All of the scenes are labeled Scene_01, Scene_02 ect