ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Questions about exporting sparkle and snow effects with transparency background?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Monica Powell
Questions about exporting sparkle and snow effects with transparency background?
on Dec 28, 2012 at 5:34:22 am

Hello,

I truly apologize if this is silly question. I will admit I am brand new to Adobe AE.

I want to do this tutorial with transparent background but when I tested this the snowfall turned golden-yellow. ??

I read a post that said it must be exported RGB + alpha so I tested it this way but then the the snowfall turned golden-yellow. I want to use the tutorial but with transparent background and NO yellow snowfall. What do I do?

Return to posts index

Vishesh Arora
Re: Questions about exporting sparkle and snow effects with transparency background?
on Dec 28, 2012 at 10:38:01 am

Monica

Videos with Alpha Channel may look awkward in video players as they don't have the option to read alpha channel. But once imported in any software like AE that reads alpha channel, it looks perfectly fine.

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist
Films Rajendra

Blog:
http://digieffects.wordpress.com

Demo Reel(3D):

Return to posts index

John Hudson
Re: Questions about exporting sparkle and snow effects with transparency background?
on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:52:16 pm

Monica,

You may be dealing with the difference between a straight alpha and Premultiplied alpha. Especially if your composition's background color is set to yellow. In the render que under the Output Module setting go to Video Output > Color > Straight (unmatted) or Premultiplied (Matted) to make this change. In most cases you would want to use Straight but since your dealing with just white (snow) you might be better to choose premultiplied. See the link below from our friend Aharon Rabinowitz. He does a great job explaining the difference.