ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Can I use a 'switch' like code to deactivate a varible

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Levi GeorgeCan I use a 'switch' like code to deactivate a varible
by on Dec 4, 2012 at 1:11:28 pm

Hi everyone!
Here's my problem:

I have a stepped graph in comp("Lipsync_Code").layer("Frames").effect("Frames")("Slider").

I'm writing a piece of code that I want to do the following:

Find the amount of frames in each 'step' and use that as it's value.

Example time:
Say from frames 1 to 20 the value of my stepped graph is 5. at Frame 21 to 23 the value steps up to 7. If the time slider is located on frames 1 - 20. I want it to be able to figure out and tell me how many frames on this step (There's 20). If it's on frames 21-23 I want it to be able to tell me there's 3 frames.

I'm fairly new to coding but I do consider myself to be half smart and I've been playing around with code for the past month though and here is my idea.

I need two similar pieces of code. Based off the current time, I need to be able to check how many frames SINCE the LAST change in value and how many frames UNTIL the NEXT change in value. Then I need to add them together.

But this idea turned out to be easier said than done. Here is my code to figuring out how long until the next variable change.

MouthPosFind = comp("Lipsync_Code").layer("Frames").effect("Frames")("Slider") ;
// the location of the stepped graph ;
Switch = 1 ;
AddFrame = 1 ;
Switch = 0;
{ AddFrame = AddFrame } ;

{AddFrame=AddFrame + 1} ;