ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

How Should I upgrade my computer Spec for AE?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Derek Chan
How Should I upgrade my computer Spec for AE?
on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:28:19 pm

Dear all,

I realize it is time to upgrade my computer since it took around 15 hours to render a 2 minute AE template from videohives.

This is my computer spec:

Gateway DX4831

PROCESSOR: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz

RAM: 8.00GB

GRAPHICS CARD: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 (the graphic card it came with was really bad so I upgraded it to this one)

HARDDRIVE: 1TB

My question is, what will be the most cost efficient way for my to upgrade my computer?

I'm not an expert on computer spec details so I'm wondering what I need to upgrade.

What processor should I get? What RAM should I get?

Or should I buy a new computer?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. THANKS!

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: How Should I upgrade my computer Spec for AE?
on Nov 20, 2012 at 3:48:30 pm

[Derek Chan] "I realize it is time to upgrade my computer since it took around 15 hours to render a 2 minute AE template from videohives."

If you have multiprocessing enabled, turn it off. You don't have enough RAM to effectively use multiprocessing.

[Derek Chan] "My question is, what will be the most cost efficient way for my to upgrade my computer"

If you are able to upgrade the RAM on your system, that's the first (and cheapest) thing you can do.

After that, buy a solid state drive (SSD) to use as the Ae cache disk.

[Derek Chan] "I'm not an expert on computer spec details so I'm wondering what I need to upgrade. What processor should I get? What RAM should I get? Or should I buy a new computer?"