ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stewart Goldstein
Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent
on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:43:23 pm

We have some footage of a gent standing in front of a green screen, which was lit by a pro.

I used Keylight in AE to superimpose the man over some stock footage.

The edges looks good, but the man is wearing a dark suit, which has a lot of noise in it. How can I minimize this? (Reshooting is not an option.)

Since I am a novice, I am including a screen shot, which includes my Keylight settings.

The still doesn't look completely horrible, but during playback, the noise is obvious and distracting.

0_screenshot2012-10-29at4.38.06pm.png

Return to posts index

Darby Edelen
Re: Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent
on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:39:43 pm

Noise in keylight is usually caused by the spill suppression. You can try and improve this by adjusting your despill bias, but you may not find a great solution that way. Another option would be to use keylight's Intermediate Result with another spill suppression technique.

Darby Edelen

Return to posts index

Vishesh Arora
on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:19:57 pm

Noise is a common problem with Key-Light plugin.

If you can spend some money, Go for Primatee Keyer.

its a Pro plugin for Keying and widely used in industry. This will give full control on almost everything will keying the Chroma.

Here is the link:

http://www.redgiantsoftware.com/products/all/primatte-keyer/

you can try buy downloading a Trial Version.

Vishesh Arora
3D and Motion Graphics Artist
Films Rajendra

Blog:
http://digieffects.wordpress.com

Demo Reel(3D):

Return to posts index

chris brett
on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:18:34 pm

Hi Stewart

My guess is that it is to do with colour correction / bit depth and suggest you work at 16 or 32 and not 8 bpc ( if you are )..