ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Picking a card: GTX 550 vs GTX 570

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trezy PeeblesPicking a card: GTX 550 vs GTX 570
by on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:45:20 pm

I'm building my first dedicated editing/VFX rig. I'm a VFX artist so I'm looking for a rig that will give me the best realtime performance. Render performance is important as well, but I'm more concerned about being able to see what Particular is doing right now than what it will be doing when I render it. I've built tons of computers in the past but I've never had to really compare video cards like this since I don't have a very good handle on how AE CS6 utilizes video cards. Right now I'm looking between two cards:

nVidia GTX 570

nVidia GTX 550

Here's what I've gathered so far:

Support
According to this page, AE CS6 supports the 570 but the 550 isn't listed. This right here may be all I need to know, but I'm not sure if the page is really up-to-date.

CUDA Cores
From what I've read, lots of CUDA cores = good. The one obvious discrepancy is here, where the 570 boasts 480 CUDA cores, whereas the 550 only has a measly 192. Using SLI (which would allow me to buy two 550s for the same price of one 570) I'd be rocking out with 384 CUDA cores.

According to this page, AE will utilize the CUDA cores of all installed GPUs, so as long as AE actually supports the 550 I'm not doing too shabby.

GPU
GTX 570
- Core Clock: 732MHz
- Shader Clock: 1464MHz
GTX 550:
- Core Clock: 951MHz
- Shader Clock: 1903MHz

This definitely confuses me. The 570 boasts more than double the number of CUDA cores that the 550 has, but it has lower clock speeds. Maybe those two things aren't mutually exclusive but from what I thought I knew about CUDA technology, higher clock speeds means support for more CUDA cores.