ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Mocha and inverse motion stabilization - scale?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
bart stevensMocha and inverse motion stabilization - scale?
by on Oct 2, 2012 at 7:22:50 pm

I'm new with Mocha and had a question about using it with inverse motion tracking.
I'm working with some footage where I want to track effects on a face.
I'm comfortable working from Andrew Kramer's "Demon Face Warp" tutorial, which utilizes AE tracking data to do inverse motion stabilization, but I'm very impressed with the Mocha tools and want to use the program for this challenge.
I've been able to export the track from Mocha and stabilize it using these expressions:
rotation:
rotation *-1
scale:
x = 10000/scale[0]; y = 10000/scale[1]; [ x, y ];

It's almost there, but the scale is throwing me off.
When using the AE tracker in Andrew Kramer's tutorial, I don't have scale data, where with the Mocha track I do. I know I can omit this data from the export to AE, or delete it, but is there a way I can use it? I'm assuming that will give me a more accurate track.
Thanks,
Bart

Return to posts index

Roland R. KahlenbergRe: Mocha and inverse motion stabilization - scale?
by on Oct 3, 2012 at 2:19:53 am

The scale Expression you have is correct. It's hard to tell why it's not working for you without taking a look at the footage and at least a snapshot your tracking splines in mocha. If can post these up here then we'll be closer to sorting out your issue.

Cheers
RoRK

Intensive AE & Mocha Training in Singapore and Malaysia
Adobe ACE/ACI (version 7) & Imagineer Systems Inc Approved Mocha Trainer

Return to posts index

bart stevensRe: Mocha and inverse motion stabilization - scale?
by on Oct 3, 2012 at 4:25:25 am

Maybe I didn't communicate clearly.
The expression is working correctly from Mocha, it's just the second step in using the information in After Effects.