ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects Render out HD to DVD problems

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nathan RiceAfter Effects Render out HD to DVD problems
by on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:23:37 am

Hello All,
I am new to DVD authoring so please forgive my ignorance. I use a Sony FS100 and After Effects to put together 90 min. films. I edit the native .MTS files with little to no effects. The files are 1080 24p. I export them as MPEG-2 DVD for Encore. However, inside the AE timeline the footage looks very good but when I look at the .M2v files and finished DVD the picture quality is terrible and very blurry. I know there will be quality loss due to resizing etc. but, I know that this cannot be the best quality I can get out of this. I also thought about shooting in SD but after the comp is rendered it looks the same. Is there anything I can do? I am not apposed to using Premiere, or unorthodox methods. I just want the best DVD quality possible. I am running mac OSX Lion. Any input will help.

Thanks in advance.

Nathan

Return to posts index

John CuevasRe: After Effects Render out HD to DVD problems
by on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:48:28 am

How are you watching the DVD, DVD player(or Blu-ray) and a HD monitor or are you watching it on a SD television. Some TV/Players don't upscale very well. I see this all the time in my projects.

Also, remember when going from HD to SD you are losing 75% of your resolution, it's going to be a noticeable loss. Can you post before and after screen grabs?

Johnny Cuevas, Editor
Thinkck.com

"I have not failed 700 times. I have succeeded in proving that those 700 ways will not work. When I have eliminated the ways that will not work, I will find the way that will work."
---THOMAS EDISON on inventing the light bulb.

Return to posts index

Nathan RiceRe: After Effects Render out HD to DVD problems
by on Sep 27, 2012 at 4:04:58 pm