ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Looking for input on shooting/editing resolution/frame rate

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Drew SmithLooking for input on shooting/editing resolution/frame rate
by on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:59:36 am

Hi there, wasn't sure where to post my question, hopefully this is a suitable forum!

I am working on a doc film that was shot with a Panasonic HDX 900 camera. I was originally under the impression that we shot in 1080i/23.98p (I didn't actually work with the shooting, only post). After the edit and work done at the post house somehow we have ended up with 1080i video at 29.97i??

I'm new to shooting in HD so am still trying to wrap my head around all the different resolution and frame rate options as well as how they're handled in editing/post. (We're editing in FCP 7)

We had hoped to produce Blu-rays in 1080p but now unless we use an interlace filter we're looking at 1080i due to combing.

My questions are the following:

1. Is it even possible to output a 1080p resolution disc from video shot in 1080i/23.98p or any other progressive frame rate?

2. Any ideas where we could have gone wrong losing the progressive frame rate? Capture/edit/render?

3. Am I hopelessly lost in the confusing land of HD resolutions and frame rates, never to return??

Thanks for any feedback!

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Looking for input on shooting/editing resolution/frame rate
by on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:40:25 am

[Drew Smith] "I was originally under the impression that we shot in 1080i/23.98p (I didn't actually work with the shooting, only post). After the edit and work done at the post house somehow we have ended up with 1080i video at 29.97i?? "

You keep saying "1080i" even when talking about progressive frame rates. You can have 1080p23.976, or you can have 1080i29.97, but "1080i23.976p" is meaningless.