ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Slow preview with Adobe After Effects CS6

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
chi hui yang zhangSlow preview with Adobe After Effects CS6
by on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:29:32 pm

Hi - I've recently purchased AE CS6, and built a PC just for it, with absolutely NOTHING ELSE in it. And yet, still no realtime preview @ around 10 fps (!), what's worse, it's not much different from my previous old computer with 3G RAM and no graphics card.....

This computer has cost me a fortune and I'm sure it can work better than this...

I'm new to AE, so not very familiar with its settings, not to say its optimal settings - so please help!

My PC has the following features:

Processor (CPU) Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-3770 (3.4GHz) 8MB Cache
Motherboard ASUS® P8Z77-V LX: USB 3.0, SATA 6GBs, ATI®CrossFireX
Memory (RAM) 8GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz, X.M.P (2 x 4GB KIT)
Graphics Card 1.25GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 570 - 2 DVI, HDMI, DP - 3D Vision Ready
Memory - 1st Hard Disk 1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK WD1002FAEX, SATA 6 Gb/s, 64MB CACHE (7200rpm)
2nd Hard Disk 500GB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 16MB CACHE
Power Supply CORSAIR 650W ENTHUSIAST SERIES™ TX650 V2-80 PLUS® BRONZE
Operating System Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit w/SP1

Thanks a million in advance!!

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: Slow preview with Adobe After Effects CS6
by on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:38:54 pm

[chi hui yang zhang] "Hi - I've recently purchased AE CS6, and built a PC just for it, with absolutely NOTHING ELSE in it. And yet, still no realtime preview @ around 10 fps (!), what's worse, it's not much different from my previous old computer with 3G RAM and no graphics card....."

AE doesn't do much in real time on any computer -- it's not built for that.

Press 0 on the numeric keypad to initiate a RAM preview instead of pressing the Spacebar to play.