ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Ok, Just what can i do with lighting in post?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh BrineOk, Just what can i do with lighting in post?
by on Sep 14, 2012 at 1:31:58 am

Hi everyone, im a newbie at post. but projects are coming fast and i need to keep up.

i need an answer to understand just what the capabilities of post are.

i know enough about color correction, keying, roto (i actually enjoy roto, but its hard and timeconsuming)and im fairly familiar with 3d packages.

anyway.

I work with a team of people who have a 'dangerous' amount of knowledge, that is they know enough about the theory of post production that the term 'fix it in post' comes up over and over and over again, and im forced to remove, patch, add, and fix badly done and 'hurried over' shots. I need to know what is actually possible with relighting,

how far can lighting on set be left until afterwards. how much has to be done on set. how far can it be pushed? how exponential is the workload for post vs doing it on set. and how much pre planning needs to go into this sort of stuff?

i know this is a random series of quesitons lol. hopefully someone will be interesting in responding.

thanks

Return to posts index

Angelo LorenzoRe: Ok, Just what can i do with lighting in post?
by on Sep 14, 2012 at 2:52:24 am

Lighting has to be done 100% on set.

Sure, you can make overall adjustments or vignette something, or dodge something out with a track matte. You won't be able to make hard shadows soft or add a rim light in post. You may be able to balance intensity but you are left with the source, shape, and direction of lighting on-set.

Lighting ratios should be set on-set rather than relying on contrast enhancement in post, for instance. Just leads to weird inconsistencies.