ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Attaching a face to a slow pan of a poster

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew Cross
Attaching a face to a slow pan of a poster
on Sep 10, 2012 at 2:16:39 am

For a little fun and some practice with after affects, i am trying to superimpose a face on old picture of a climber who happens to be one of his heroes...

I have two video clips. One is of the face of the subject. I got him to look into my camera with a deadpan expression... at the end of the clip he blinks.

The other is a handheld pan of a giant poster of well known climber.

This is my first time using rotobrush and motion tracking.

Ive rotobrushed the face of the subject (so I have just his face) and then Ive rotobrushed out the face of the climber with the intent of superimposing the video of the face of my subject on the body of the climber.

However, I am having some problems with motion tracking. Because the subjects in both videos are moving, I am having trouble attaching the face of the subject to the body of the climber in the poster...

Ive used motion tracking to create a motion path for the face of my subject and targeted the path to a null object. Ive done the same with the body of the climber in the poster - also targeting the motion to a null object. Is this the right way to do it?

Return to posts index

chris brett
Re: Attaching a face to a slow pan of a poster
on Sep 10, 2012 at 8:33:28 am

Hi Andrew

-- heres a few things to consider...

( Ive rotobrushed the face of the subject (so I have just his face) and then Ive rotobrushed out the face of the climber )

No need to roto out the face of the climber unless you are going to patch some background over it to remove it before applying new face --- which in some cases is useful as there is more scope

( I am having some problems with motion tracking. Because the subjects in both videos are moving, )